My thoughts on Racism

I don’t post on social media about my views about anything controversial. The area I live in is full of people who do not share the same opinions as me and while I can appreciate everyone is entitled to their own opinions I can be quiet no longer. It does not bother me to be friends with people who view things differently, in fact I find it refreshing to hear different points of views on different issues, I just don’t want to spend my time arguing about it. I think everyone is entitled to their own opinion and I respect that other people will not always share my view. However it is killing me to not address the recent events in America, so I must say something.

My family raised me to be accepting of everyone, I can not even fathom how people can see someone’s race and it affect their view or opinion of that person, since that’s just not how my brain works. I know I have my family to thank for that, and I am grateful that it is not difficult for me to look past race. While I can accept people’s other opinions, I cannot accept people to view one group differently based on skin color. There is no evidence that anything is different between a white person and a black person besides their skin color. A common saying I’ve heard a lot growing up is “theres a difference between a black person and a nigger.” The saying is usually followed by the person continuing with their offensiveness, “They’re loud, they’re dangerous, they’re poor.” However I can think of plenty of people with white skin that fit those descriptions as well, why do we ignore that fact? I may only be a high school graduate currently in college but I never learned that a person’s skin color was in control of their behavior. I also never heard that a black person and white person have different brains, which are what control behavior, so where is the logic behind discrimination based on skin color?

Racism is something deep rooted in America’s history. We have denied blacks the ability to buy land, vote, and get jobs. We denied an entire race the staples that would have allowed them to succeed and then criticized them for failing. Currently we alienate an entire race and expect them still to succeed in what I think is still a “white world.”

Then when black people start to finally realize the injustices done to them and attempt to start a movement, “black lives matter,” we decide to gloss over it with “all lives matter.” I’ve even heard the argument that it’s racist to say black lives matter. No. It is racist to deny a group of people, the ability to try to call attention to a serious problem in the United States. I can understand why it is frustrating to hear “all lives matter.” Because yes, personally I do think everyone’s life matters, but that is not was “all lives matter” means. It means, we are going to pretend that black people are not the victims so that we don’t have to stop being racist, we don’t have to address the issue, and most importantly to “fix” the problem we don’t have to do anything to benefit the black race.

It is my opinion that we will never truly defeat racism, I have seen it myself, passed through families, taught like teaching your child honesty or responsibility is racism right along next to it. I don’t know how many times I can say it, someone’s skin color has literally NOTHING to do with who they are as a person. Unfortunately because people seem to not be able to learn that, we have literally handicapped an entire race to the point that they have become a minority in a country that they had just as much a hand in founding. The black lives matter movement is not saying white lives don’t matter, it’s merely reminding us that black lives do matter. White people do not need a reminder that their lives matter, when has that ever come into question? While yes terrorist attacks and shootings have happened was it ever a question of if that person was shot because they were white? Did white people ever fear that because a white person was shot they were also unsafe? No, white people never had that fear, so why do we need the reminder.

I have never thought there was a higher form of ignorance than racism.

disclaimer: Everything said is my opinion so if you don’t agree with it thats fine, opinions are arguable and I know that. I just had to get my thoughts out on the subject.

 

Leave a Reply

