Dream Big

When you’re eighteen years old you’re supposed to know what you’re going to want to do for the rest of your life. Well they say 18, because that’s when you start college, but really you should know around 16 or 17 because that’s when you’ll be picking which colleges to apply to and filling out applications. Let’s be honest, you’re really supposed to know what you want to do from the moment you’re born. When you’re little you’re asked “What do you want to be when you grow up?” While no one explicitly says it’s not okay to know what you want to do at that age, you also don’t want to be the one kid that doesn’t have anything to dress up for on career day. Oddly enough we expect kids to have big dreams, like rock star oor president and laugh when they already want to be something serious like a lawyer. Then once you’re older, if you tell someone you want to be a rock star they hit you with the “What’s your back up plan?” So you’re telling me I’ve wasted my whole childhood dreaming about a future that can’t happen?

When I was younger I wanted to be a vet, that’s one of the popular ones that kids choose. It was also a career path that I was encouraged to pursue, probably because it was realistic. However despite my encouragement at a young age in high school people began discouraging vet school as well telling me “Getting into vet school is very hard, I hope you have a back up plan.” and “It’s very expensive are you sure you can do it?” and even, “Are you sure you’re going to be a good vet?” While I was met with opposition  for my seemingly attainable career, I can’t imagine the negativity people who had bigger dreams faced. While I realized wanting to be a vet wasn’t for me, it wasn’t because of the struggles people thought I’d face, I just realized I had other interests in other fields I’d enjoy more. I just think it stinks for people who have big dreams that are attainable to them, but they don’t try because they’ve never had real encouragement.

Word Count:370

 

Leave a Reply

